top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRev Liza M. Neal

Questions for Christian America From Your Sibling in Christ

Published by the Center for Prophetic Imagination

Do you think they will believe me?” He asked with desperation, scars visible and invisible. How do I answer such a question? “I don’t know.”


“Do you think they will separate me from my child?” She asked clutching her sleeping 2 year old. How do I answer such a question? “I don’t know.”


“Why won’t they let us stay together?” Husband and wife ask with their child’s legs on daddy’s lap and her head on mommy’s. How do I answer such a question? “I don’t know.”


“Tengo miedo.” (I am afraid.) I am too. “Reza por mi.” (Pray for me.) “Dios – – – –


An old man, probably young in years, rattles off questions and fears and memories so fast I can’t catch the Spanish words. “Algunos dias son malos,” I say. (Some days are bad.) “Hoy as malo, muy malo,” he agrees. “Recuerda su valor,” I urge. (Remember your courage.) “Recuerda que es un buen hombre.” (Remember you are a good man.) “Dios esta contigo.” (God is with you.)


I do not know how to answer these questions. I do know this:


God is not with us. God is crossing the border, and we have left God to the gun, and the cell, and the crucifixion.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page